Summary of Class 8th English NCERT Book

All NCERT Books are prepared by expert teachers & trainers after doing extensive research on topics of every subject. CBSE NCERT Solutions for all classes are several times by professional teachers, before being published.

These NCERT Books are developed to assist every student without reference to their IQ, with apt solutions and knowledge in straightforward language.

NCERT Books cover all fundamentals of every topic for all subjects to assist the scholars in understanding the concepts easily and quickly.

One more interesting and major advantage of reading NCERT books is that these textbooks completely stick with the CBSE latest released curriculum. Therefore, students can find all the questions and topics supported by the newest syllabus and exam structure. So students are free from confusion between both organizations. NCERT Books are enough not just for board exams but also for the competitive exams like JEE mains and everyone. 

English is one of the favourite subjects of the students. 

The CBSE Class 8 NCERT English consists of 10 chapters and 7 poems.

Chapter 1 – The Best Christmas Present in the World:

Set against the backdrop of Christmas, this story is a couple of letters describing a few incidents from a war between the German and therefore the English. This story’s narrator, Michael Morpurgo, pitches upon this letter and takes it upon himself to convey it to the addressee – the writer’s wife. However, the wife mistakes our narrator to be her husband and declares this as her best Christmas present in the world.

Chapter 2 – The Tsunami:

A collection of real-life survival stories post the 26/12/2014 Tsunami that hit the Indian coast, this chapter provides readers with a glimpse of the struggle which will undergo after a disaster. Confirm to unravel an inventory of comprehension checks provided at the top of this chapter in CBSE NCERT books.

Chapter 3 – Glimpses of the Past:

This chapter is split into 9 sections with pictorial representations to assist students to have an in-depth idea about the history of India from 1757 to 1857. It further lets them have a transparent notion about multiple conditions that led to the primary War of Independence, 1857.

Chapter 4 – Bepin Chowdhury’s Lapse of Memory:

Satyajit Ray’s signature literary genre finds its expression via a bit that takes humorous combat, a clear psychological condition that a private has.

Chapter 5 – The Summit Within:

Conquering the summit while on an expedition to Everest is the core of this chapter. Recounted by Major H.P.S. Ahluwalia, one among the members of the primary successful expedition to Everest, is often a story of courage and conquering challenges.

Chapter 6 – This is Jody’s Fawn:

This is a mesmerizing story of a few little boys who saved their father from a snake bite with a doe’s heart and liver and harboured guilt and looking for the motherless fawn. A real reflection of the innocence that a toddler is blessed with; this story is a perfect read for the students.

Chapter 7 – A Visit to Cambridge:

This chapter portrays an unprecedented conversation between two great minds of the century – Hawking and Firdaus Kanga. While both of them are, as per societal conventions ‘disabled’, their minds surpass that of the so-called ‘abled’.

Chapter 8 – A Short Monsoon Diary:

This chapter provides a quick glimpse from the diary of a nature lover, one who is hypnotized with an ever-evolving image of flora and fauna and enjoys the sight of the onset of monsoon on hills.

Chapter 9 – The Great Stone Face – I:

This story revolves around prophecy, nature, and divinity. A story set within the backdrop of a valley that features a rock resembling a wise face, this story deals with hope and teases readers’ curiosity since it’s divided into 2 sections.

Chapter 10 – The Great Stone Face- II:

The second part of this story narrates the progress of your time, the fate of the prophecy, and a twist in its conclusion.

The prose section ends here.

The book consists of 7 poems listed below:

Chapter 1 – The Ant and the Cricket:

A fable within the pattern of a poet, The Ant and therefore the Cricket is an animated discussion between two beings. While a grasshopper spent his days frolicking around in summer, he never gave the approaching winter an idea and hence never saved food for it. On the contrary, an ant clothed to be a methodical creature and kept saving food as a resort for the winter.

Chapter 2 – Geography Lesson:

Portraying a picturesque eagle’s point of view image of a city, the chapter reveals an unknown angle of the known city. While the poet gets lost in an organized, geometric pattern of his place, one has got to appreciate the poem’s flow and rhythm.

Chapter 3 – Macavity: The Mystery Cat:

Humorous fable-like combat the mysterious aspects of a cat named Macavity forms the centre of this poem. The outline of this cat, alongside the usage of pertinent words makes it a stimulating read.

Chapter 4 – The Last Bargain:

A metaphorical poem, ‘The Last Bargain’ by Rabindranath Tagore provides a thoughtful insight into the constraints of a materialistic world that fails to make people happy despite money, power, and lust. Read on and luxuriate in this text.

Chapter 5 – The School Boy:

Bereft of the proximity to Nature and detached from the innocence that fills their childhood days, this poem depicts the miseries of a schoolboy imprisoned within the strangles of their mundane routine life.

Chapter 6 – When I Set for Lyonnesse:

A recount of Hardy with an autobiographical touch, this poem represents the necessity for a respite distant from the maddening crowd of this mundane world.

Chapter 7 – On the Grasshopper and Cricket:

Keats’ symbol of utmost summer and winter within the sort of grasshopper and cricket accordingly, is about against the sweetness of nature.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button